4 August 2020, Tuesday | 11:20am

Wee Jeck Seng sworn in as Tanjung Piai MP




KUALA LUMPUR: Newly elected Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng has been sworn in as the Tanjung Piai MP in the Dewan Rakyat on Monday (Nov 18).

Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof congratulated Jeck Seng for winning the parliamentary seat last Saturday.


"The Dewan Rakyat has a special high position in enacting the country's laws in hopes to bring benefit to all Malaysians.

He is the second MCA lawmaker in Parliament.

Jeck Seng arrived early at about 9.30am and was accompanied by MCA president and Ayer Hitam MP Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong into the House for a dress rehearsal before the ceremony at 10am.

The Tanjung Piai by-election saw Jeck Seng win with an overwhelming 15,086-vote majority.

Wee, a former two-term Tanjung Piai MP, garnered a total of 25,466 votes against Pakatan candidate Karmaine Sardini who obtained 10,380 votes; Gerakan's Wendy Subramaniam (1,707), followed by Datuk Dr Badhrulhisham Abdul Aziz of Berjasa (850) and two independents, Dr Ang Chuan Lock (380) and Faridah Aryani Abdul Ghaffar (32).



Source: The Star

Photo: MalayMail

Average: 5 (1 vote)