16 June 2019, Sunday | 06:00am

Gobind is new chairman of Selangor DAP


PETALING JAYA (Dec 9): Communication and Multimedia Minister Gobind Singh Deo has been appointed as the new chairman of Selangor DAP.

The announcement was made by the speaker of Selangor DAP Convention 2-18 speaker Leong Yu Man, after Selangor DAP’s polls here today.

Gobind, who is also member of Parliament for Puchong, was among the 15 candidates who garnered the highest number of votes to be elected to Selangor DAP’s executive committee line-up for the  2018-2021 term.

The new executive committee members then reached a consensus to appoint Gobind as the new chairman of Selangor DAP and Seri Kembangan  assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah as his deputy.

Kinrara Ng Sze Han secured the highest number of votes at 491 followed by Selangor DAP Publicity Bureau deputy secretary Tiew Way Kheng (463 votes).

Gobind, when met by reporters afterwards, said he would pay heed to the voice of the grassroots and build solidarity.

“My main task is to listen to what the divIsions want and we must build Selangor DAP to be strong to face the challenges ahead.

“I am very confident that were are a formidable team and will do our best to bring Selangor DAP to greater heights,” he said.

Meanwhile, former Selangor  DAP chairman Tony Pua, who lost in the polls, when approached by reporters, said he accepted the decision of the delegates.

Admitting that he was slightly disappointed with the result, Pua, who only secured  292 votes, said the delegates has spoken and that he accepted the outcome with an open  heart.

"Thank you for having given me a chance to lead Selangor DAP. This result will not deter me from continuing to work hard for the party and the Pakatan Harapan government,” he said.

Only 756  out of the 1,092 delegates eligible to attend the convention turned up, Forty candidates were in the fray for the 15 positions up for grabs.

Selangor DAP Executive Committee Line-up of 2018-2021 term:


Gobind Singh Deo

Deputy Chairman:

Ean Yong Hian Wah

Vice Chairmen:

Ng Suee Lim

V. Ganabatirau


Ronnie Liu Tian Khiew

Assistant Secretary:

Ong Kian Ming


Ng Sze Han

Assistant Treasurer:

Duncan Lee Ching Hung

State Organising Secretary:

Bryan Lai Wai Chong

Assistant State Organising Secretary:

Tee Boon Hock

Committee Member:

Lau Weng San


Source: TheEdgeMarkets

Average: 4 (1 vote)